The release date of BORKNAGAR’s much anticipated new album ”Urd” is only a few days away and the great news is that there is a massive positive vibe and media reaction towards the record! Amongst others, Germany’s Metal Hammer Magazine as well as Norway’s Scream Magazine have voted “Urd” to become the ”album of the month” of their current issues! Congratulations to the band for this great achievement…

BORKNAGAR’s mastermind Oystein G. Brun has checked in to comment about the amazing advance reactions as well as the band status as follows:

“Hey folks! Just wanted to give you all a brief status report from the BORK headquarter…


First off I would like to express our gratitude for all the amazing feedback we have got for the upcoming album. As earlier stated we’re all very satisfied and proud of the new album, but the fact that this album would unleash such a massive and positive feedback came a bit as a surprise for all of us. “Urd” recently won the “album of the month” in Metal Hammer Germany, something we really didn’t really expect being the “unconventional” band we are. Also we won the “album of the month” in Scream Magazine in Norway and it feels good to get that kind of recognition in our own territory. We have done numerous interviews the past weeks and what a joyful ride it is, the feedbacks are generally amazing and we can’t do anything but smile.


As you can see the album comes in different version; standard jewelcase CD, limited digipak with two extra tracks and a vinyl version in black, green and gold. Reportedly some of these limited items are soon out of stock, so if interested to have an exclusive edition of the album, make sure to place you order ASAP.


On another note we are currently working on a project that we will reveal soon, we are really excited about it and hopefully it will grant an additional and worthy dimension to our expression….


Due to the massive and positive feedback I would like to offer something back to all our fans: Fans can submit questions to the following mail address: mail.borknagar@gmail.com – The 20 first questions will be answered and launched on our sites. Please headline the mail with “Fan Question”. So if there is anything you are wondering about in relations to BORKNAGAR that journalists and magazines haven’t been digging into – feel free to submit your question!”


Take care, folks! Øystein / BORKNAGAR


Here are the exact release dates for “Urd” per country:

SPAIN / ITALY: Tuesday, March 27, 2012.
SWEDEN / FINLAND / HUNGARY: Wednesday, March 28, 2012.
AUSTRALIA / NEW ZEALAND: Friday, March 30, 2012.

The album’s artwork was designed by Brazilian artist Marcelo Vasco (www.P2RDESIGN.com), who has not only already worked on the band’s previous “Universal” release but also with artists such as Soulfly, Belphegor, Einherjer or Keep of Kalessin. The mixing duties for the album were taken care of by Jens Bogren at Sweden’s Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Paradise Lost, Katatonia, etc.).

BORKNAGAR have now launched a first promotional song off “Urd” on Century Media’s YouTube-channel. Go check out the enthralling track “Roots” here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BxPRXaTpICM

The tracklisting for the album will read as follows:

BORKNAGAR – “Urd” / Tracklisting:

1. Epochalypse

2. Roots

3. The Beauty Of Dead Cities

4. The Earthling

5. The Plains Of Memories

6. Mount Regency

7. Frostrite

8. The Winter Eclipse

9. In A Deeper World

Next to the standard CD, 180gr. vinyl LP (in unlimited black version, but also in very limited colored pressings of 200x green copies via the CM Distro Shop in Europe and 100x golden copies via the CM Distro shop in North America!), a limited edition first pressing version of the album will be available in Europe as Digipak with the 2 bonus tracks “Age Of Creation” (unreleased new album sessions’ track) and “My Friend Of Misery” (Metallica cover).

BORKNAGAR’s “Urd” can be pre-ordered in Europe from CM Distro in its different formats but also as bundle of the limited edition Digipak with an exclusive shirt:

 BORKNAGAR "URD" - bundle