Hey, have a look at this!

Century Media just sent out these news about our video for Winter Thrice and the info on album pre-sales. It’s only 4 more weeks now and it’s out!

Have a look!


Borknagar Nov 2015. Photo by Martine Petra

Borknagar Nov 2015. Photo by Martine Petra


The release of the newest, 10th studio album entitled “Winter Thrice” by Norwegian epic black metal pioneers BORKNAGAR on January 22nd, 2016 via Century Media Records worldwide is drawing closer. Therefore the band is now launching a promotional video clip directed by David Solbjørg and Kjetil Kolbjørnsrud of Twitchy Films for the album’s title track, which also features former/original vocalist and Ulver-mastermind Kristoffer Rygg on guest vocals.

The stunning clip can be seen here: https://youtu.be/NDrrKv2wjvk


BORKNAGAR founder and guitarist Øystein G. Brun commented about the clip as follows: “Finally it’s time to present our brand new video for the song “Winter Thrice”. Being the title track for the 10th album, we wanted this to be something special. We are indeed a special band. The song and the video features all the 4 vocalists throughout our 20 years of adventure, including Kristoffer Rygg a.k.a. Garm, who was our very first vocalist back in the days. The video was produced by the eminent team from Twitchy Films and was captured at various locations in Norway; first and foremost at the amazing Midgard Historiske Senter at Borre, but also in the furious wilderness of the wintry Telemark. We all laid our hearts into this project, we hope that shines through!



“Winter Thrice” will be released as standard CD, as limited edition Digipak CD version with extended artwork and also as Gatefold 2-LP on 180gr. vinyl (On black vinyl but also in strictly limited coloured versions: transparent blue in 100x copies / CM Webshop USA and white in 100x copies / CM Webshop Europe). Both the Digipak and the LP come with the bonustrack “Dominant Winds” and additionally, the Digipak includes a BORKNAGAR logo-patch.

Here is the album’s tracklisting:

BORKNAGAR – “Winter Thrice”:

1. The Rhymes Of The Mountain

2. Winter Thrice

3. Cold Runs The River

4. Panorama

5. When Chaos Calls

6. Erodent

7. Noctilucent

8. Terminus


The album’s European pre-sale kicks off today via CM Distro and soon also digitally (With the two first singles as

instant grat!), so make sure to pre-order “Winter Thrice” in your format of choice throughout the holidays here:






Recently, BORKNAGAR also debuted a lyric-video for the album’s opening track “The Rhymes Of The Mountain”,

which can be seen/heard here: https://youtu.be/Zoa9w7WB_Xo


“Winter Thrice”, which – just like the previous album “Urd” from 2012 – was once again mixed by Jens Bogren / Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Kreator, Amon Amarth, etc.) and packaged in artwork by Marcelo Vasco / P2RDesign (Slayer, Machine Head, Soulfly, etc.), is unique to the BORKNAGAR catalogue also because it features four vocalist parts, including the return of original singer and Ulver-mastermind Kristoffer Rygg, a.k.a. Garm, who guests on two songs. “Winter Thrice” encompasses everything that BORKNAGAR has put to tape over the past two decades, from their most brutal assaults to their most experimental compositions, with a larger progressive vibe than ever before, making it an absolute highlight in the band’s already stellar career so far…

BORKNAGAR have already confirmed some festival appearances in support of “Winter Thrice”, as follows:

BORKNAGAR live 2016:

17.-19.06.2016 Dessel (Belgium) – Graspop Metal meeting

01.-03.07.2016 Roitzschjora (Germany) – With Full Force

04.-06.08.2016 Wacken (Germany) – Wacken Open Air

More dates will be announced soon…

In other news, BORKNAGAR have also announced the launch of a special branded beard-oil. Obtain more details

about it here: http://borknagar.com/2402/raedical-introduces-borknagar-beard-oil/

Further news about BORKNAGAR and “Winter Thrice” coming soon…


BORKNAGAR line-up:

Øystein G. Brun – Clean and Electric Guitars

Vintersorg – Grim Vocals, Clean Vocals and Choirs

Jens F. Ryland – Lead Guitars

ICS Vortex – Bass, Clean Vocals and Choirs

Lars A. Nedland – Keys, Clean Vocals and Choirs

Baard Kolstad – Drums






Century Media Records online:





Century Media webshop: