We have finally put together the announcement, this is just in from Century Media: 

“Winter Thrice”, the 10th studio album by Norwegian epic black metal pioneers BORKNAGAR, has been released worldwide by Century Media Records for a couple weeks now and not only keeps receiving acclaim from both media and from fans, but has also managed to enter the sales charts in various countries: Germany # 62, Switzerland # 90, Finland # 44 as well as in the USA # 17 in the Heatseeker Charts and # 15 in the Hard Rock Charts.

To further promote “Winter Thrice”, BORKNAGAR have just announced a run of European tourdates together with fellow Norwegians Kampfar and Diabolical from Sweden. Here is a list of those dates:


BORKNAGAR + Kampfar & Diabolical – European Tour
Presented by RTN Touring, Legacy & Rock Hard
13.04.2016 Hamburg (Germany) – Marx
14.04.2016 Oberhausen (Germany) – Kulttempel
15.04.2016  Berlin (Germany) – K17
16.04.2016 Warsaw (Poland) – Progresja
17.04.2016 Cracov (Poland) – Kwadrat
18.04.2016 Brno (CZ) – Melodka
19.04.2016 Budapest (Hungary) – Barba Negra Music Club
20.04.2016 Bratislava (Slovakia) – Randal Club
21.04.2016 Ljubljana (Slovenia) – Gala Hala
22.04.2016 Pratteln (Switzerland) – Z7
23.04.2016 Aalen (Germany) – Rock It
24.04.2016 Rotterdam (The Netherlands) – Baroeg

For further info, visit: www.rtn-touring.com
BORKNAGAR will additionally appear at the following European festivals:

BORKNAGAR live 2016:

17.-19.06.2016 Dessel (Belgium) – Graspop Metal meeting

01.-03.07-2016 Vana-Vigala (Estonia)- Hard Rock Laager
01.-03.07.2016 Roitzschjora (Germany) – With Full Force

04.-06.08.2016 Wacken (Germany) – Wacken Open Air

13.08.2016 Rasnov (Romania) – Rockstadt Extreme Fest


BORKNAGAR guitarist Jens F. Ryland checked in with a comment on the upcoming tour as follows: “The first feedback on ‘Winter Thrice has been completely mind blowing to us! Our dedicated fans have made so much fuzz that we seem to attract some new listeners, resulting in listings on album charts in several countries. Even the video for the title song is being received in a way that has us debating if we should do another one! We are truly inspired to act on the response and have been working for a while to set up a tour, and here we go! 12 European gigs added to the summer festivals already makes this our busiest year since 1999, and we hope to add even more. We intend to adjust our plans according to the feedback we get, so make sure your voice is heard!”

“Winter Thrice”, which was voted “Album of the month” in Legacy Magazine (Germany), Scream Magazine (Norway) and Rock Hard Magazine (France), as well as # 3 in the soundcheck ratings of Metal Hammer Magazine (Germany) and Aardschok Magazine (The Netherlands), was released as standard CD, as limited edition Digipak CD version with extended artwork and also as Gatefold 2-LP on 180gr. vinyl. Both the Digipak and the LP come with a special bonustrack and the Digipak also includes a BORKNAGAR logo-patch.

You can order the album in its various physical formats here:



And digitally here:



Most recently, BORKNAGAR launched an impressive promotional video clip directed by David Solbjörg and Kjetil Kolbjörnsrud of Twitchy Films for the album’s title track, which also features former/original vocalist and Ulver-mastermind Kristoffer Rygg on guest vocals. See it here:

Previously, BORKNAGAR also debuted a lyric-video for the album’s opening track “The Rhymes Of The Mountain”, which can be seen/heard here:


“Winter Thrice”, which – just like the previous album “Urd” from 2012 – was mixed by Jens Bogren / Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Kreator, Amon Amarth, etc.) and packaged in artwork by Marcelo Vasco / P2RDesign (Slayer, Machine Head, Soulfly, etc.), is unique to the BORKNAGAR catalogue also because it features four vocalist parts, including the return of original singer and Ulver-mastermind Kristoffer Rygg, a.k.a. Garm, who guests on two songs. “Winter Thrice” encompasses everything that BORKNAGAR has put to tape over the past two decades, from their most brutal assaults to their most experimental compositions, with a larger progressive vibe than ever before, making it an absolute highlight in the band’s already stellar career so far…


BORKNAGAR line-up:

Øystein G. Brun – Clean and Electric Guitars

Vintersorg – Grim Vocals, Clean Vocals and Choirs

Jens F. Ryland – Lead Guitars

ICS Vortex – Bass, Clean Vocals and Choirs

Lars A. Nedland – Keys, Clean Vocals and Choirs

Baard Kolstad – Drums







Century Media Records online:






Century Media webshop: